This is Attorney Mark Thush and today I’d like to share with you recent Florida PIP Law changes that were made in 2012 and took affect on January 1, 2013.
Prior to January 1, 2013, Florida’s No-Fault Law stated if a person was injured in an auto accident they were entitled to receive up to $10,000 in medical treatment through car insurance Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Coverage.
Last year the Florida Legislature passed substantial changes to Florida’s No-Fault Law, that went into effect on January 1, 2013. One of these changes specifically states that if you have been injured in an auto accident, you must seek treatment within 14 days otherwise you are not entitled to receive PIP coverage.
Another dramatic change to the statute indicates in order to be eligible for $10,000 in PIP benefits; a person must be diagnosed initially with an “emergency medical condition,” one that may result in serious jeopardy to your health or impairment of bodily function. Otherwise, a person is only entitled to receive up to $2,500 in PIP coverage.
There are many other substantial changes that the Florida Legislature has passed regarding Florida’s No-Fault Law. The two changes just mentioned are likely to have the most drastic affect for people injured in auto accidents.
I hope you’ve enjoyed our show today. Remember – I’m a personal injury attorney – so if you or someone you know needs my help – give me a call – I’m glad to help.
Hey don’t forget to LIKE my Facebook page, that’s Mark Thush, P.A. so you can receive FREE updates of my video posts.
I’ll see you soon!